Friday, July 22, 2011

First Limb ....Yamas

The Yamas are broken down into five "wise characteristics." Rather than a list of dos and don’ts, "they tell us that our fundamental nature is compassionate, generous, honest and peaceful.

(Universal Morality)

 Ahimsa – Compassion for all living things

 Satya – Commitment to Truthfulness 

   Asteya - Non-stealing

 Brahmacharya - Sense control 

Aparigraha  Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth 

The Yoga Sutra describes what happens when these five behaviors outlined above become part of a person's daily life. Thus, the yamas are the moral virtues which, if attended to, purify human nature and contribute to health and happiness of society.

No comments:

Post a Comment